University Student Friendly Account

A quick Google (or other search engine of choice) reveals that every major and not so major bank are offering deals to new Uni students and I’m just wondering if this is in the plans?

I have a 17yr old who definitely has plans to go next year and a 15yr old that is talking about Uni but …

Hi @stubbyd! This sounds good. We’re certainly keen to reach out to students so I’ve passed this over to the team. I’m interested to hear more about what you think students would be interested in from Starling?

I’m way past being a student myself but a quick search of the pipes shows many options with probably the top one being a fee free overdraft which increments each year to a max of around £2,500 - £3,000.

The overdraft should be a guaranteed one with flexible and friendly payback/reduction terms after graduation (my eldest [27] had to pay his back almost instantly).

As a follow up to this the ability to “lock” the account from further spending if it hits a certain limit and / or the overdraft limit.

No fees - you’ve got this one covered :smiley:

Some sort of freebie - such as a student railcard for the duration of their Uni days / 3yrs

ermmm… I’m struggling but perhaps a quick look here:

will reveal what banks are offering and this next link shows things a student should consider so Starling could look to match those ideals or come close to!

http://www.savethestudent.org/money/student-banking/student-bank-accounts.html#consider

Students and parents I think @JamesPratley

I know my parents put money in the bank for me for various things, but in an extension of connected accounts it would be nice to implement something similar to Ethereum smart contracts to enable funds to be transferred for a particular purpose.

Starling already categorises payments…would it be possible to have a silo whereby money can be transferred and siloed for a particular purpose eg .rent / shopping.