Mac App | Using API

Ok I have had a look around but have not found anything (please add a link to a discussion if this has already been asked)

But as a developer it has just occured to me that using the API I could create a Mac Desktop app for managing my account.

Not having looked at the API docs yet, are all of the features / endpoints available to fully manage an account (payees, moving money etc etc)?

Although I love the mobile only aspect of Starling, I do spend most of my time on a desktop or laptop as opposed to my phone, this is also where I sort out all of my finances, so a desktop app would be awesome.

Before I jump head first into building a Mac App…

1. is there already something like this going on
  2. would this project be of interest to anyone else
  3. is it even possible using the API
  4. are there some regulations around doing this (im a developer not a banker)

Thoughts?

edit: I could actually build this using a more modern JS framework and wrap this up in something like electron, so it could be available to Windows and Linux users alike

If you aren’t releasing your app you can register on the developer site and get a personal access token. This only allows connection to your account and save much of the OAuth headache.

Most things are available, but some things aren’t available with personal tokens (possibly sending money to external payees, but I can’t remember). It’s all documented on the site.

I use the API to track all my direct debits/recurring card transactions each month. It tracks what’s been paid and what’s due, along with my next pay day, to tell me what I have available.

It also performs a round up function as well as giving me a live transaction feed which gives me details not shown by default in the app (foreign currency and GBP amount in the transaction list, for example).