Cashback Offer on Direct Debits

Hi, I’m new to Starling Bank and loving everything so far, only 1 gap that my existing Santander 123 account provides is the incentive around Direct Debits.

1%, 2%, 3% cashback into my account depending on category of Direct Debit is a great benefit to have. Sometimes I have achieved £20+ a month.

If there’s anything planned to offer some benefits like this, I’m all in with Starling :+1:t2:

Cash back on household bills?

The message I seem to have gotten from Starling is that it’s going to be a no thrills bank account (unless you count notifications as a thrill) and anything cashback/incentive related would be offered by third parties through the market place (like Tail currently provide).

Santander also charge £5 a month to have the account. I imagine they’ll be operating a ‘win some, lose some’ policy where the customers who don’t earn more than £5 cashback a month pay for the customers who do.

Not sure that’s something Starling should be concentrating on.

@Chalky I agree that it’s probably not the main focus for Starling and can see everything else that is happening with the Starling account can offset some of that.
Even £15 (After a £5 fee) a month is something difficult to lose when it’s ultimately free money for DD’s just ticking over in the background.

I wouldn’t necessarily call Starling ‘no thrills’, the experience I’ve had with them so far far exceeds any account I’ve previously had.

I live in apps, I have more than 300 apps on my iPhone and in a weird way it’s a bit of a thrill having an entire bank sitting behind a little purple icon!!

Thanks @Kumnaa, I have setup Tail and also Moneybox in the just less than a month I have been using starling.

Tail is a good idea, would be great to see some bigger brands get behind Tail as at the moment it’s a little niche and also very London based (I work in London so that works for me!!).